My Review of Matteo Bussola’s Sleepless Nights and Kisses for Breakfast

“My job is being a father. My profession is drawing comics. I write for fun.”

Matteo Bussola’s Sleepless Nights and Kisses for Breakfast (TarcherPerigree, 2017) is a delightful and wonderful piece about the joys of fatherhood no matter if you are the father of daughters (as he is) or sons…or both!

Developed, from what this reviewer understands, from his Facebook posts, Bussola takes us on an inside look of fatherhood, and life, as he helps his three young daughters navigate life and the wider work in which they lived.

Organized into the four seasons of winter, spring, summer, and fall, Bussola chronicles the daily tasks of being a dad, a husband, and an adult as he unpacks insightful nuggets of wisdom from his daughters’ questions; reflects on the fleeting time he has with his daughters; and addresses contemporary issues such as racism and ageism.

Several stories I marked as my favorite and while I will not share their content, I list a few of them here:

Kids’ Party – A hilarious look at two dad’s (one of them being Bussola) at a kid’s birthday party.

Eyes like Andy Garcia – Probably my favorite of them all.  A reminder of many things, including that children have a way of bringing you down to earth with a sudden thud!

Pockets Full of Stones – A wonderful bittersweet reflection looking at the long term aspect of fatherhood that changes as children grow older.

Daughter to Go – A humorous look at what happens when you turn the tables on a telemarketer with your “dad card.”

This book is a wonderful gift for dads and dads-to-be.

I gave this book a four-star rating on Goodreads.

Note: I received an uncorrected proof of this book from the Amazon Vine reviewer program in exchange for a review. I was not required to write a positive review.

 

Leave a Reply

