50 Things for Which I am Grateful…

In response to a post from the wonderful Rochelle Wisoff, who runs the Friday Fictioneers group (which I have not consistently contributed to this year, shame on me…) here is my contribution to the prompt, suggested by Dawn Landau over at Tales From The Motherland of 50 things to be grateful for as part of flooding the internet with gratitude.

If you want to join then follow the following instructions.

To join us for this project: 1) Write your post and publish it (please copy and paste the instructions from this post, into yours) 2) Click on the blue frog. 3) That will take you to another window, where you can past the URL to your post. (folks have trouble with this, but it’s not that hard. 4)Follow the prompts, and your post will be added to the Blog Party List. The inLinkz will be open until January 3, 2017

Also, please note the following from Rochelle:

Please note that only blog posts that include a list of 50 (or an attempt to write 50) things that made you feel Happy or 50 things that you are Grateful for, will be included. Please don’t add a link to a post that isn’t part of this exercise; I will remove it. Aside from that one caveat, there is no such thing as too much positivity. Share your happy thoughts, your gratitude; be creative; be happy and grateful, and help us flood the blogosphere with both!

As I look back on this year, and the past few years as well, I am grateful for the following:

  1. Faith
  2. Hope
  3. Love
  4. 11025677_626768680790344_6780550246711076945_o
    Number 4: Reuniting with family members that you wondered about for many years.

 

 

 

 

 

13939463_857806814353195_1953717876668153551_n
Number 5: My Kindle – I think that I am wearing it out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Childhood heroes like the late John Glenn
6. Childhood heroes like the late John Glenn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 7: checking off bucket list item of going to Gilbert and Sullivan at a university I have become familiar with! :)
Number 7: checking off bucket list item of going to Gilbert and Sullivan at a university I have become familiar with! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standing in line at 5:50 AM on election day with my oldest as he voted for the first time and seeing this which made me want to sing "God Bless America" (but I didn't) Both of my boys vote in their first election this year. It was my 11th Presidential election.
Number 8: Standing in line at 5:50 AM on election day with my oldest as he voted for the first time and seeing this which made me want to sing “God Bless America” (but I didn’t) Both of my boys voted in their first election this year. It was my 11th Presidential election.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 9: Re-uniting with a junior high teacher who has become a legendary Bluegrass Singer and leader of a well-known bluegrass band
Number 9: Re-uniting with a junior high teacher who has become a legendary Bluegrass Singer and leader of a well-known bluegrass band

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Celebrating my youngest's high school graduation and beginning the empty nest process.
Number 10: Celebrating my youngest’s high school graduation and beginning the empty nest process.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 11: The privilege of staying at a faith community long enough for both my boys to graduate and being a spiritual leader to a group of kids growing up from pre-school and younger to their high school graduation

Number 12: for doctors who suggest allergy shots which have given me relief during the fall to winter transition

Number 13: for allergy meds

Number 14: the ability to get out of bed in the morning and do something meaningful

Number 15: the awesome and at times overwhelming privilege of being a spiritual leader to a group of people in one place for over 16 years

Number 17: the chance to keep learning, even hard things, and growing as a person

Number 18: a local book club that I joined this year

Number 19: a house that I own (even though I have to pay for the upkeep)

Number 20: cars that work (generally)

Number 21: a group of budding mechanics who have worked on my cars as they learn the trade of auto mechanics and have saved me perhaps a thousand dollars in labor!

Number 22: My 40th High School reunion. In helping to remember our deceased classmates, I was reminded of the shortness of life and became more grateful for this group of people.
Number 22: My 40th High School reunion. In helping to remember our deceased classmates, I was reminded of the shortness of life and became more grateful for this group of people.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 23: Rollercoasters! Still love this one the best, the Millennium Force at Cedar Point which hits 90+ MPH down the first hill!
Number 23: Rollercoasters! Still love this one the best, the Millennium Force at Cedar Point which hits 90+ MPH down the first hill!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 24: The ability to express gratitude, something that I have had trouble doing from time to time.

Number 25: My blog. It has connected me with some wonderful people across this planet. I have learned much about myself and others as I have connected through this blog, now over eight years old.
Number 25: My blog. It has connected me with some wonderful people across this planet. I have learned much about myself and others as I have connected through this blog, now over eight years old.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 26: Being a theater dad and watching him as Bert go upside down! And then watching him a college freshman play Macbeth last month.
Number 26: Being a theater dad and watching my youngest as Bert go upside down a year ago in Mary Poppins. And then watching him as a college freshman play Macbeth last month.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 27: The beauty of nature. I have begun to pay more attention to sunrises and sunsets this year, in part because of Instagram, but also I find myself being more grateful as I pay attention to nature.
Number 27: The beauty of nature. I have begun to pay more attention to sunrises and sunsets this year, in part because of Instagram, but also I find myself being more grateful as I pay attention to nature.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 28: My Instagram Account...when I got my first smart phone last year I determined to have an IG account. Had one for a while, then deleted it. Came back to it and have been able to share my love of aviation.
Number 28: My Instagram Account…when I got my first smart phone last year I determined to have an IG account. Had one for a while, then deleted it. Came back to it and have been able to share my love of aviation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 29: Roses... nuff said...Enjoy!
Number 29: Roses… nuff said…Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 30: Pictures of my extended family, of great-grandparents and my grandmother (on the far right). I treasure these things now more than ever.
Number 30: Pictures of my extended family, of great-grandparents and my grandmother (on the far right). I treasure these things now more than ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 31: The ability to right, I mean write…

Number 32: The ability to think for myself (at least on a regular basis)

Number 33: The ability to care and to want to make a difference in another person’s life in meaningful and positive ways

Number 34: The ability to laugh, not at another’s expense, but as a way of not taking oneself too seriously and enjoying light hearted moments.

Number 35: Kids. The profound simpleness of children brings smiles and laughter out of me. (I also am ready for grandchildren…but that is a future hope).

Number 36: The majesticness of large cats. Tigers make me speechless. Lions make me wonder. Leopards amaze me.

Number 37: Speaking of cats... Hanna, our adopted cat who has been with us for almost 9 years now. This was not a good moment for her...the vet has just finished with her and her annual checkup and shots. Nuff said
Number 37: Speaking of cats… Hanna, our adopted cat who has been with us for almost 9 years now. This was not a good moment for her…the vet has just finished with her and her annual checkup and shots. Nuff said

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 38: Human treats at the vet. For all pet dads and moms who need something to de-stress after being through their pet's annual check up.
Number 38: Human treats at the vet. For all pet dads and moms who need something to de-stress after being through their pet’s annual check up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 39: BOOKS! One of my favorite websites is Goodreads. Look me up there if you wish! I have been a reader most all of my life and it was books and book reviews that got this blog going!
Number 39: BOOKS! One of my favorite websites is Goodreads. Look me up there if you wish! I have been a reader most all of my life and it was books and book reviews that got this blog going!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 40: My One Word. 2017 will be the fifth year I have focused on a single word throughout the year. This year's word is Simplify and that has taken place in ways big and small. I will announce my 2017 word on New Year's Day. A great way to focus on personal growth for a year.
Number 40: My One Word. 2017 will be the fifth year I have focused on a single word throughout the year. This year’s word is Simplify and that has taken place in ways big and small. I will announce my 2017 word on New Year’s Day. A great way to focus on personal and spiritual growth for a year.

 

 

 

 

 

Number 41; PUNS! A good pun is always in style if not in good taste!
Number 41; PUNS! A good pun is always in style if not in good taste!
Number 42: These two - my sons. Youngest on left and oldest on right. I had infertility surgery because it was determined I needed it if I was going to be a dad. It worked! I am very grateful to God for them.
Number 42: These two – my sons. Youngest on left and oldest on right. I had infertility surgery because it was determined I needed it if I was going to be a dad. It worked! I am very grateful to God for them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 43: Planes. I am a plane fanatic. I grew up around an Air Force base and wanted to be a pilot. But that was not to be. So I am a sim pilot and this is a screen shot of an Airbus A320 in Gulf Air livery that I 'flew' the other night.
Number 43: Planes. I am a plane fanatic. I grew up around an Air Force base and wanted to be a pilot. But that was not to be. So I am a sim pilot and this is a screen shot of an Airbus A320 in Gulf Air livery that I ‘flew’ the other night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 44 – Flight Simming. I have been a flight simmer for over 20 years. It is one of the ways I relax.

Number 45: Coffee. I am a coffee drinker. I enjoy different blends and my favorite is Komodo Dragon at Starbucks
Number 45: Coffee. I am a coffee drinker. I enjoy different blends and my favorite is Komodo Dragon at Starbucks

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 46: This valentine handed to me by a young woman born in Russia and raised in the US. It made my day!
Number 46: This valentine handed to me by a young woman born in Russia and raised in the US. It made my day!

 

 

 

 

 

Number 47 My Mom - Now 92, she was a production line worker during WW2, a college student in her middle 20's, a librarian, a wife, a bank worker, private kindergarten teacher, and a public school substitute teacher. Her faith runs deep and she has survived serious cardiac surgery and two rounds with breast cancer!
Number 47 My Mom – Now 92, she was a production line worker during WW 2, a college student in her middle 20’s, a librarian, a wife, a bank worker, private kindergarten teacher, a public school substitute teacher and a person of prayer (in that order). Her faith runs deep and she has survived serious cardiac surgery and two rounds with breast cancer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 48; My late father and his service to the US on the battlefields of Korea many years ago.
Number 48; My late father and his service to the US on the battlefields of Korea many years ago.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 49: My wife of over 33 years. She is a wonderful mother, a person with a strong intellect, a passionate worker in a local elementary school, and a wonderful partner in life. She has saved me from so many dumb and even wrong choices. I am grateful for her!
Number 49: My wife of over 33 years. She is a wonderful mother, a person with a strong intellect, a passionate worker in a local elementary school, and a wonderful partner in life. She has saved me from so many dumb and even wrong choices. I am grateful for her!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number 50 Life itself.
Number 50 Life itself.

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Holidays!

Merry Christmas!

Happy New Year!

For what are you grateful?

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “50 Things for Which I am Grateful…

  1. I love reading through all of these lists– it’s so inspiring and yet most of the lists focus around family, that connection of belonging and trying not to take the everyday things for granted.

  2. Dear Jim,

    I’m patting myself on the back that my blog inspired you. 😉 Wonderful list, sir. I, too, love Gilbert and Sullivan and, of course coffee. I’m a few years ahead of you as my 45 year class reunion was this past autumn.

    Holiday Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Jim, I’m so glad you took the time to join my annual #BloggersUnite for #50HappyThings! I’m so impressed with your list… all that in 15 minutes is amazing! You have had a very interesting life, it seems and I really enjoyed seeing what makes you happy or grateful! Thanks again for sharing, and happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

