South: Part Volunteer and Proud of It!

Today’s Daily Post prompt is South.

I immediately think of the Southern United States, more specifically the Southeastern United States.

My roots, from what I have been able to determine, extend throughout the Southeastern US from Virginia to South Carolina to Kentucky and to Tennessee, my mother’s birth place.

Her roots are Scot, Irish, and Native American.

But for 70 years she called the Buckeye State (Ohio) home, having packed up all her earthly possessions the day after she graduated from High School and moved to the southwestern part of Ohio.

I well remember a trip in 1969 to her hometown and how I woke up one morning in a feather bed well rested and sat down to a breakfast of steak and eggs! My 11 year old stomach welcomed the meal!

And I am a Tennessee Volunteer fan at heart! Go Vols!

And while I acknowledge the tensions of history in regard to the American south and the heinousness of slavery I also affirm and acknowledge the many contributions of the south including those of the African American community.

11411646_676470472486831_3254946100524033010_o
Last summer with the family as we vacationed in Tennessee

 

My grandmother on the far right and my great-grandmother to her right. Around 1915 or 1916
My grandmother on the far right and my great-grandmother (in the hat) to her right. Around 1915 or 1916

 

scan0011g
My mother in the center with her oldest sister and younger brother on my grandfather’s lap. Taken around 1930
Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories Daily PromptTags , , , , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “South: Part Volunteer and Proud of It!”

Leave a Reply

