My One Word: The Surprising Serendipitousness of Simplify

My One Word for this year – simplify – has taken me by surprise.

It has worked its way into my life, my thinking, my decision making with surprising speed.

Maybe it had been crouching at the door to my soul waiting for an entrance for quite some time. I don’t know.

Even as I write of this Surprising Serendipitousness  I cannot fully express what I have experienced so far.

But I can speak of a slowing down and being quiet…

of knowing when to say ‘stop and rest,  Jim you can do that later…’

of knowing enough is enough

of making more margin

of get acquainted with solitude

of having a greater clarity about direction and discerning God’s will

So as I continue this journey with simplify now almost five months in, I am grateful for the increasingly focused clarity that I am being granted and given…

Oh Dear Lord
Three things I pray
To see thee more clearly
Love thee more dearly
Follow thee more nearly
Day by day

 

Leave a Reply

