Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

Today’s Daily Prompt asks

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

Around 25 years ago a now late friend showed me a new book out by a man who had a rebirth of faith and a turnaround of life through the 12 Steps of AA. The man was the late Keith Miller.

The book was A Hunger for Healing: The Twelve Steps as a Classic Model for 50352Christian Spiritual Growth

I have read this book many, many times over these past 25 years and I even replaced the original hardcover that I lost in a fire with the paperback I have today.

I know that there are those who have difficulty with; do not believe in; totally reject the 12 Steps. I acknowledge and respect them. However, given my life, I have found that there have been habits and more importantly, attitudes that have caused me pain and caused pain in others.

Having walked through this book, I have been given a tool to work on those habits and attitudes that bring me down and affect my relationship with my God, my family and friends, and even my work.

It is a book that I can read over and over and find help and insight in and through each time I read it. It also serves to remind me that there is a God, my Higher Power if you will, who wants to help me overcome and live more free, more authentically, more humanly.

 

Leave a Reply

