On the Book Table and the Kindle

Wow… the month of January flew by but the book table and kindle are loaded up for February 2016!

On the book table is… (still)

25786037Karl Rove’s The Triumph of William McKinley: What the Election of 1896 Still Matters. (Simon and Schuster, 2015) I am about half way through this book and I am enjoying reading a contemporary political strategist unpack an election which took place 120 years ago! (That’s 31 presidential elections ago!) Rove’s detailed attention to McKinley’s campaign for the Republican nomination of 1896 is great reading and an education in the political and, to me, social history of the US. I hope to finish it soon!

 

 

25387654Jon Meacham’s Destiny and Power: The American Odyssey of George Herbert Walker Bush. (Random House, 2015) Once I am done with Rove’s book, this one is next.

 

 

 

13049569Robert A Caro’s The Years of Lyndon Johnson: The Passage of Power (Vintage Press, 2012) The fourth of a anticipated five volume set, this series on LBJ was got me started on my long journey of reading a biography or autobiography of every American President after I read Nixon’s memoirs. It will get read, not sure how soon, as I have few more books (as you will see) ahead of it.

 

Now on the kindle…

TLOP-Front-215x300Linda Carlson’s The Language of Publishing: An A to Z Glossary of Book Publishing Terms (IPBA, 2015)

Hoping to be published some day (and I have had some religious writings published) as a book author, I have Linda Carlson’s go to guide to read to help me understand the world of publishing.

 

27161576Roger Daniels’ Franklin D Roosevelt: The War Years, 1939-1945 (University of Illinois Press, TBP March 30, 2016)

I read the first volume of Daniels’  FDR biography last year and liked it. Looking forward to this second volume.

 

25814436Charles Rappleye’s Herbert Hoover in the White House: The Ordeal of the Presidency (Simon and Schuster, TBP May 2016)

Rappleye is an editor and writer who has written books on Robert Morris who financed Washington during the American Revolution and a book about John and Moses Brown, The Sons of Providence. 

 

23199738Bob Mayer’s Area 51: Time Patrol (Nightstalkers, Book 4) (47North Publishing 2015)

I really like this series and have started this book and need to finish it.

 

 

28460231Sarah Arthur’s Between Midnight and Dawn: A Literary Prayer Guide to Lent, Holy Week, and Eastertide (Paraclete Press, 2015)

With Lent around the corner, I took to this like a uh… well… Anyway, I downloaded it from Net Galley. It will be getting an immediate read for both my personal and professional life (minister) as well as for a review.

 

22574114Gerald Hiestand and Todd Wilson’s The Pastor Theologian: Resurrecting an Ancient Vision (Zondervan, 2015)

I have been in parish ministry for nearly three decades and it has changed. But I am reading, hearing, and feeling more and more discontent and frustration with the current models of pastoring that seem more like CEO (Chief Executive Officer) than CSO (Chief Spiritual Officer). Interested, very interested in this.

 

25043220Peter Scazzero’s The Emotionally Healthy Leader (Zondervan, 2015)

I read Scazzero’s The Emotionally Healthy Church about ten years ago and found it helpful. Realizing that I need to be emotionally healthy on a continual basis, I am looking forward to this book.

 

 

26700530Elizabeth Drescher’s Choosing our Religion: The Spiritual Lives of America’s Nones (TBP, Oxford University Press, 2016)

I have read many articles about the rise of “nones,” religiously unaffiliated persons whose numbers have seem to grow each year. Now, I am looking forward to reading the stories of some of the “nones.”

I will definitely…

SEE YOU BEHIND THE PAGE!!!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “On the Book Table and the Kindle”

    1. Hi Grace!
      Yes I am.

      As for NetGalley they have varying dates when the archive a book after which it is no longer available but one can still file a review with them. They have the option now of several books your can read immediately. Most of the ones who saw on my post that are my Kindle books are this way. One has been approved by them and the publisher. Timely and fair reviews and I think, a Thank you! to them (in the comment to the publisher section) helps build credibility with them. Be very clear in your biography about your blog and writing. If you have questions, let me know! I will be happy to help!

      Regards

      Jim

Leave a Reply

