My One Word for 2016 – Simplify

This is my fourth year to select One Word to focus on instead of a New Year resolution.

It has made a difference in my life and to “connect the dots” between the now four words is to see a path of living that has been helpful, hopeful, and not always easy.

My first word was empower

Embed from Getty Images

then came listen

Embed from Getty Images

and then this year’s word fast

Embed from Getty Images

 

For 2016 it is simplify

Embed from Getty Images

imagesI am reading Jeff Shinabarger’s More or Less to help me get started

 

 

 

 

 

 

28722and I am going to be reading as much as I can on the discipline of simplicity starting with Richard J Foster and Emilie Griffin’s edition of Spiritual Classics.

 

 

 

 

This coming year is a transitional year for myself and my family as my youngest son will be heading to university in the fall. So with both of my boys off to university, the empty nest season of life will commence. It is time to simplify.

But I have also sensed and seen that I need to simplify my life in other ways and will be attempting to do that this year.

If you have been considering a single word to focus on for 2016, I encourage you to try it this year.  Three websites that are worth looking at for inspiration and ideas are the following:

www.oneword365.com

www.myoneword.org

www.getoneword.com

A Blessed Happy New Year to you all!

 

Jim

2 thoughts on “My One Word for 2016 – Simplify

  1. Hello Jim, you commented my One Word tweet and I came to see what yours will be for this year. SIMPLIFY and the empty-nest go together very well. It is definitely an adjustment but wonderful too! Happy New year!

Leave a Reply

