On the Book Table and Kindle Plus Edition

In anticipation of the New Year and coming changes to this blog later this week, I thought that I would share with you what I am currently reading via my book table and my kindle as well as letting you know about my first reviews coming on line next week.

On the book table is

24849384Dominic Certo and Len Harac’s Gold In the Coffins.  Published by Harmita Press this is a book about a group of Marine Veterans taking on Wall Street. Thanks to Smith Publicity for asking me to review this book.

 

 

 

 

25387654Next is Jon Meacham’s Destiny and Power: The American Odyssey of George Herbert Walker Bush

I read Meacham’s American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House,  five years ago as part of my Presidential Biographical/ reading project and I read during that same time frame read Timothy Naftali’s GHW Bush work.

Given to me last week as a birthday gift, I am looking forward to reading it and writing my review of it.

25786037A Christmas gift book, (my two sons did “real good” with their birthday and Christmas present selections this year), is Karl Rove’s The Triumph of William McKinley: Why the Election of 1896 Matters. I read the late Margaret Leech’s biography of McKinley In The Days of McKinley published in 1959 and awarded the Pulitzer Price for History.  I am interested to see what Rove has to say about both McKinley and that election for I believe that McKinley is one of the most underrated American Presidents and needs to be read and studied.

As for the Kindle… it is packed with books that I am reading my way through.

25379594First is Julie Cantrell’s The Feathered Bone

When a mother chaperoning her daughter’s sixth grade field trip to New Orleans discovers that her daughter’s best friend disappeared during the trip, it launches her into a search for both the girl and hope in the midst of such a loss. Thanks to both the people at Smith Publicity and Net Galley for this book.

 

 

23199738Since I read the first Area 51: The Nightstalkers three years ago, I have become a fan of this very interesting and unique elite team of people whose mission is dealing with a force called Fireflies. So now I am to book four and look forward to reading about their next adventure. Thank you Bob Mayer for creating such a great series!  This book I bought with an Amazon gift card.

 

 

Now, next week will be the first reviews for 2016 and they are, in order of posting,

26544997Stephen J Lind’s A Charlie Brown Religion: Exploring the Spiritual Life and Work of Charles M Schultz. Published by the University of Mississippi Press, Lind’s work is an interesting and insightful study of the late Peanuts creator Charles M Schultz. Thanks to the folks at Net Galley and the University of Mississippi Press for the galley copy. The review will come out on next Tuesday, January 5th.

 

 

25111090Daniel de Vise´ wonderful study of the lives and friendship of the late Don Knotts and the late Andy Griffith is found in his Andy and Don: The Making of a Friendship and A Classic American TV show. Published by Simon and Schuster, it is an insightful, honest, and, I think, fair look at two men who shaped TV comedy as they both wrestled their way out of hard and harsh childhoods. My review will appear on Thursday, January 7th. Again thanks to Net Galley and Simon and Schuster.

 

25776227Finally, via the Amazon Vine review program is Kelly Kerney’s Hard Red Spring that will be published in March by Viking Press.  This was an amazing novel and is set in 20th century Guatemala and the impact that the disappearance of a little girl has on the lives of four women throughout the century.  My review will come out on Friday, January 8th.

 

 

Well that’s what is on my book table and Kindle  at the end of 2015 and, in the case of the last three what has been on them!

See you behind the page!

 

 

3 thoughts on “On the Book Table and Kindle Plus Edition

Leave a Reply

