My Review of Taylor W Law’s Return to Me

26830789There is no better way to say this…

This novella made me sad.

Well written, and all too true to life these days, Taylor W Law’s debut work of fiction Return to Me (TWL Publishing, 2015) is the story of a couple whose choices before, during, and after a significant family loss result in separation and divorce.

 

Based on true events “personally observed and experienced” by the author, this is a story about the neglect of (and yes, infidelity in) a significant relationship – one’s marriage. Set against a small town and Christian college back drop, Jill Edwards and her husband Dave, both make one choice after another which leads them both farther and farther apart until…

Now good fiction clearly reveals both the pathos and joy of life. Law does this quite well. And to be honest, I am not sure if I responding as reviewer or a minister who has sat with couples whose marriages are falling apart, or both, in writing this review. Which perhaps is another sign of good fiction – it creates a deeply visceral response.

So Come to Me is a piece of fiction that does what, in my opinion, good fiction does – it draws the reader in and forces them to respond. In this case, it has saddened me by ripping out my heart!

I rate Come to Me as a ‘good’ read.

Note: I received a E-copy of this novella from the author in exchange for a review. I was not required to write a positive review.

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories Book ReviewsTags , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “My Review of Taylor W Law’s Return to Me”

Leave a Reply

