2015 A to Z Reflections: A trip back in time (sorta) and a simple focus

This was my second year for participating in the A to Z Challenge and I really enjoyed doing again it.

My focus for this year was on stories that I made up for my two sons, Jonathon and Daniel, now 19 and 17 (respectively) at bed time. They came into existence after Daniel was born so that I had some time with Jonathon at bedtime.

I told the stories for several years and they took us from Jon and Dan’s farm to the university town where his dad taught for a while to Africa where the scene the boys remember the most to this day took place: A panther appears while the boys are using an outhouse!

Well for this A to Z challenge, which I called “The Adventures of Jon and Dan,”  they did not leave the area of Red Brick, a small farming community, which are common here in the Midwestern US. So my focus was simple for this year as I attempted to recreate the setting and theme of those original stories.

What I like about the A to Z Challenge is that it provides you with the opportunity to have fun with some kind of creative writing. It also I think provides a venue for sharpening your writing skills and your creative thinking on a daily basis.

One of the things that I did not do this year and which I regret was not taking the time to visit other writers’ sites to see what they were doing. And I am sorry that I did not do so. But with some family health issues (and I am a caregiver to my mom) just writing the posts became a challenge toward the end.

What I would like to see in future A to Z Challenges is that perhaps some geographical listings be in place so that one could read and connect with fellow participants. For example, there could be a US Great Lakes region where participants from Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, and Wisconsin could be listed so that a participant in that area could read what others from that area are writing.

But reading internationally is also one of the pleasures of this wonderful writing experience! I “met” some great writers last year!

I am also wondering if placing the challenge in the month of January might be an idea. I know that January can be a month in which we are recuperating from all the end of the year celebrations and find we have time on our hands. Just a thought.

I am looking forward to the 2016 A to Z Challenge.

 

A-to-Z+Reflection+[2015]+-+Lg

 

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories 2015 AtoZ Writing ChallengeTags 4 Comments

4 thoughts on “2015 A to Z Reflections: A trip back in time (sorta) and a simple focus”

  1. I enjoyed Jon and Dan’s adventures, I’ll be eager to see what you come up with post challenge, it was nice to meet you and good luck with your Mum’s care!

Leave a Reply

