My Review of Andra Watkins’ Not Without My Father

Not Without My Father: One Woman's 444-Mile Walk of the NatchezIn early 2014 Andra Watkins walked the Natchez Trace from Mississippi to Tennessee as a way of promoting her first novel To Live Forever: An Afterlife Journey of Meriwether Lewis (Wordhermit Press).

Many people, including this reviewer of that book, followed Andra along her journey as she posted daily video blog posts about that promotional journey. What many of us did not know was the unfolding “behind the scenes” story with her father and mother as she walked.

Not Without My Father is that story.

And what a story it is!

Written in a very engaging style with both actual personal thoughts from Andra’s dad as well as snatches of her conversations with him, Not Without My Father is a  great contemporary memoir in which two adults seek to re-develop (and perhaps re-negotiate it as well) their relationship from child and parent to two adults. Her journey, and Roy’s (her dad) becomes more than a promotional tour. It truly becomes a journey of reconciliation and hope as well.

I am grateful for this book primarily because I think that it gives us a glimpse into a writer’s back story that is often unknown until years later, if ever. But I also like it very much because it reminds us that family is oh so important.

I rate this book a ‘great’ read.

Note: I reviewed an ARC of this book via the author without an expectation of a positive review.

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories Book ReviewsTags , , , 4 Comments

4 thoughts on “My Review of Andra Watkins’ Not Without My Father”

Leave a Reply

