My One Word for 2015: Fast

When I began to consider in late October my One Word for 2015, I was reading a galley copy of the newly revised edition of  Marjorie Thompson’s Soul Feast which is a wonderful book about the disciplines of the Christian faith.

And this One Word – Fast grabbed my attention and did NOT let go.

“Really Lord, this word?”

A silent affirmation within me was the answer to my question.

I have no idea what this means for me. The implications of this discipline are immense and profound:

I just don’t know…

I also became quickly aware of what Jesus said in Matthew 6:16-17

“And when you fast, don’t make it obvious, as the hypocrites do, for they try to look miserable and disheveled so people will admire them for their fasting. I tell you the truth, that is the only reward they will ever get. But when you fast, comb your hair and wash your face.”

I shall follow this practice.

But God has stuck this word in my soul and it looks like a bright pink Post It note standing out from among the grey texture of my life right now.

“What are you going to say and share about your journey this year, Jim?”

I will simply share after the fact about my experiences and what I believe I am being taught; shown; changed by.

Here we go…

2 thoughts on “My One Word for 2015: Fast”

  1. so interesting..
    loved Soul Feast – didn’t know a new version pending
    the word’s arrival fits with the ,a href=”http://hope.ly/1EPCX1O”> resource I found this year as well.
    Blessings on your New Year & new Word!

Leave a Reply

