The Daily Post: A Vega Named George

Today’s daily post  is a gem!

 

Have you ever named an inanimate object? (Your car? Your laptop? The volleyball that kept you company while you were stranded in the ocean?) Share the story of at least one object with which you’re on a first-name basis.

 

Well… there was my first car, a 1976 Chevy Vega which I named George
He was quite the car! During the harsh winter of 1981-1982, I tried and tried to start him with the help of my future father-in-law but it would not start. In fact, I cranked on him for so long that I put gas in the oil lines. He had to be pushed to the garage, the plugs pulled and cleaned, the oil drained, and George had to sit for a day and dry out!

Well, after I picked him up from the garage, I drove to a gas station and filled him up. As I started him up and smoke started coming from under the hood and I quickly drove back to the garage. Turns out the switch which keeps the driver from starting the car in drive (George was an automatic Vega, I have never owned a manual shift car) had shorted out! So a simple bypass on the switch (that would be replaced when I traded George in about nine months later) was made which allowed me to start him up in Drive!

I do know of one picture still in existence of George but it has an ex-girlfriend in it and though that was 33 years, I think that it will stay in the photo album!

Side note: I traded George in for a wonderful 1982 Toyota Tercel whom I promptly named R2-D2!

 

 

English: 1977 Chevrolet Vega GT
English: 1977 Chevrolet Vega GT (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories Daily PromptTags , , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “The Daily Post: A Vega Named George”

Leave a Reply

