Friday Fictioneers: “Mom Always Liked You Best”

Good Wednesday morning all! I just checked and it has been over three months since I last posted my contribution to the wonderful Friday Fictioneers group! Seriously?

Well “summer” is about over and school will begin the earliest that it ever has here in our part of Indiana and so the wife and youngest will soon be back at it while the oldest gets ready to head to college for his first year. It has been be a good summer and I am grateful for a great deal.

Okay, enough catching up.

Here is my contribution to this week’s Friday Fictioneers and thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for her leadership and this week’s photo prompt.

 

view-from-the-plane
copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

Mom Always Liked You BestΒ©

by Jim Kane

As the ground began to fade beneath us and our quickly climbing 737, our conversation turned to the past.

“God, John where did the time go?’

“I know, Steve, I know.”

“Since she died, I have been thinking about her pineapple bundt cake. Wow, how I loved it. But she never seemed to make it as much. Why?”

I said nothing.

“I KNOW why! Because she was always making that blasted German Chocolate cake YOU and DAD liked.”

Silence.

“Mom always liked you best.”

“I know, Steve, I know.”

And with that I turned toward the window and smiled.

27 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: “Mom Always Liked You Best”

    1. Hi Rochelle!
      I was thinking of a couple of brothers by those names πŸ˜‰
      but decided to change the names to protect the guity! πŸ˜‰
      Thank you!
      Regards
      Jim

    1. Hi Doug!
      No I am an only but have a large family on my mom’s side and learned (and continue to learn) a great deal from it!)
      Good to be back and thanks!
      Regards
      Jim

  1. I’m not sure I like John very much. It would have been politic to demur, even if it were so. But it’s a telling glimpse of family life in a short snatch.

Leave a Reply

