Daily Prompt: “To Taste or Not To Taste, That is the Decision”

As a pot of Caramel Truffle coffee brews just across my office, with its wonderful aroma seducing me to drink it… immediately!,  I turn to today’s daily prompt which asks an interesting question, “You have to choose one flavor that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish… which one do you choose to lose? 

Well, let’s see…

I love the bite of a jalapeno pepper and so giving up my spicy taste (not to mention a wonderful serving of General Tso’s chicken!) is not an option.

And the salty flavor of nuts such as peanuts and the taste of Doritos would be sorely missed as well!

I even like the sour taste of Skittles from time to time and so I could not stand to lose it.

Probably the bitter taste of olives and some of my favorite coffees (like Komodo Dragon from Starbucks!) would be dearly missed.

So I suppose that if I had to get rid of one, I should really get rid of them all! For after all, is it not the combination of all these tastes that make our taste buds addicts to the wonderful foods and drinks we enjoy?

As William Shakespeare wrote in The Comedy of Errors, “Unquiet meals make ill digestions,” so too, does the lack of taste make for unquiet and unhappy eaters!

Embed from Getty Images

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: “To Taste or Not To Taste, That is the Decision”

  1. I think I would give up the ability to taste sweet things. I’d lose weight, maintain a steady blood sugar level, and I really don’t think I’d miss it that much. Spicy and salty would be a tragic loss, however…

    1. Hi Megan!
      Point well made! I need to cut back on the sweets as well. Working on it but it is hard to do! Thanks for stopping by!
      Regards
      Jim

Leave a Reply

