Friday Fictioneers: Disco Era Flash Back

Good Thursday evening!

It’s time once again for Friday Fictioneers! Thanks Rochelle for your leadership and Doug for the photo prompt!

Here we go!

Copyright Douglas M. MacIlroy
Copyright Douglas M. MacIlroy

 

Disco Era Flash Back©

by Jim Kane

 

Tony was truly in a good mood after a productive week of work. Jan was getting Ashley from daycare this week and so Tony figured he had some time to have some fun before they got home.
With the diving helmet on turned on the turntable and classic scratchiness of vinyl came to life
“She packed my bags last night, pre-flight…”

Soon he was in outer space
“Oh no, no, no, I’m a rocket man…”

 

Suddenly he heard Jan’s voice

“Ground Control to Major Tom
Your circuit’s dead,
there’s something wrong
Can you hear me, Major Tom?

 

Copyright of all quoted lyrics are to their respective writers and owners.

19 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Disco Era Flash Back”

  1. I love both of those songs! Great interpretation of the prompt! I did have trouble with this, though:

    “With the diving helmet on turned on the turntable…”

    Too many “on”s and “turn”s too close together for readability (to me, anyway). 🙂

    -C

  2. I could hear the Major Tom lyrics in my head!
    This is funny. What would possess a man (or anyone?) to put on a helmet and dance just because the wife and kids are away? The things we do when we’re alone.

  3. Jim, I’m laughing out loud at this. Good for her, getting into the spirit of things. I’ve turned up oldies very loudly when alone and sung along, maybe even danced a bit, but no props so far (and that’s props in the original sense, although I get neither.)

    A blessed Easter!

    janet

Leave a Reply

