My One Word: The Hardness of Listening

This has been a hard week for listening. I have not listened well.

I was reminded last night (Friday) that I had not been listening in (and well) to an important and on-going conversation stream at home. It made me angry. But they were right.

As I have turned this word “listen” over and over in my mind, the phrase “pay attention!” has been a frequent guest in my conscious thought.

And then, and really only today to be honest, I looked at my listening verse for this week (and maybe next week, too!) from 1 Samuel 3:9, “So Eli told Samuel, “Go and lie down, and if he calls you, say, ‘Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.’” So Samuel went and lay down in his place.”

Pay attention Samuel! Listen!

Pay attention Jim! Are you listening?

Assistive Listening Systems These systems tran...
Assistive Listening Systems These systems transmit amplified sound via hearing aids, headsets or other devices. They include infrared, loop and FM systems. Portable systems may be available from the same audiovisual equipment suppliers that service conferences and meetings. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “My One Word: The Hardness of Listening

Leave a Reply

