Hear! Listen! A One Word Reflection

deut 64

 

the first verse to appear in my search of Bible verses with the word listen is this one: “Listen, O Israel! The Lord is our God, the Lord alone” Deut 6:4

It has become known as The Shema, the core Hebrew prayer which calls the pray-er to hear/listen! Understand! The Lord is our God, the Lord alone.

It is a statement, an affirmation, a command, a clear call to comprehend and believe that there is only one God – the LORD.

As I think about this ringing call, and this ringing verse, it prompts me to ask:

Who am I listening to the most these days?

Do I believe in this God proclaimed by this verse?

Am I listening to this God?

What noise is causing me the most problems in listening to this God that I believe in, that I believe is the God described in this verse?

Is the noise primarily internal or external or both?

But I am also asking:

How well am I listening to this God?

What is He saying to me about listening?

What are some simple evidences that I am listening to God?

How is my life, my relationships, my soul changing because I listen to this God?

Note: Any ads which may appear below are not endorsed by me.

Leave a Reply

