A Hump Day Prayer of Gratitude

Come, let us sing for joy to the Lord;

Praying Hands
Praying Hands (Photo credit: C Jill Reed)


    let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.
 Let us come before him with thanksgiving
    and extol him with music and song. Psalm 95:1-2 NIV

I am grateful O Lord, for many things this Thanksgiving Eve.

I am thankful for Your love and mercy in my life. You have been gracious and forgiving to me in moments when I have been at my weakest. I am grateful for this Father.

I am grateful for my wife. She is a woman of strength and faith. Thank you for the 30 plus year journey we have had together. I am grateful. Bless her Father today and in the days ahead. Continue to be her hope and source of strength.

I am grateful for my two boys. They are men in the making and I pray that they will be faithful to You in the days and years ahead. I thank You for their developing artistic skills and their emerging leadership. I pray that they will be men of Godly character now and in the future.

I am grateful for my mom. I am grateful for Your healing touch in her body this year. I thank You I am able to sit down and hear her stories of life before and during the Depression of the 1930’s; of war; of peace; of my father’s romantic pursuit of her; and of the many blessings she often counts. Bless her this day and in this new season of life.

I am grateful for the congregation I serve. Some are walking through a first thanksgiving without a loved one; others are dealing with fractured families and lives; others are facing health issues; and still others are marking the end of one chapter of life and the start of an exciting new chapter. Bless them all Lord and help me be a better shepherd/servant/pastor/leader.

I am grateful for the community I live in. I thank you for the diverse set of people who make up this wonderful town called Kendallville. Continue to give wisdom to our city leaders. Provide for work for those who are seeking it and thank you for jobs that have come and are coming.

I am grateful for those who challenge me. They sharpen me in ways large and small. I ask that you bless them. I ask that you help me learn from then.

Thanks Good Gracious God.

Amen

One thought on “A Hump Day Prayer of Gratitude

Leave a Reply

