Friday Fictioneer: Glory Days Gone By

I continue to enjoy Friday Fictioneers over at Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog Addicted to Purple it is a pleasure to exercise the creative side of my brain each week with another prompt.

I appreciate the feedback and the likes from not just other Fictioneers but also other readers. Thank you all!

I also appreciate the chance to read a diverse set of stories in response to the same picture as I see and look forward to reading them each week. Here is this week’s photo prompt and my response to it.

Glory Days Gone By

by Jim Kane ©

al_forbes
Copyright Al Forbes

They stood looking up at that face forty years after they walked passed it as bright eyed undergrads ready to take on the world in 1969.

Pausing, Martin Stevenson, who would be fighting the VC on the Cambodian border seven months later, turned to his classmate, Jon Linden and said, “I am reminded of Professor Vincent who taught literature.”

“Yeah, I remember her too. If she had ham and eggs for breakfast, she could clear the room during third hour Romantic Literature.”

They walked away.

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer: Glory Days Gone By”

  1. Tender and realistic tale, Jim. Those moments when we pause to remember… The wording is a bit confusing. The intro in the first paragraph, makes it sound like it’s 40 years later, but at the start of the 2nd paragraph they are going off to fight the VC… but there is no real cue that we are back in ’69 again. I had to re-read it a couple of times to be sure I wasn’t missing something.

    Overall, the sense of times passed is very well done here. I really enjoyed it!

    1. Thanks for your comment. I see your point about the narrative. I have been told that I make turns in telling a story that cause some to have whiplash!

      Regards

      Jim

    1. Thanks! I’ve been told that I have a ‘random’ sense of humor myself… In fact, I heard my voice in this story!
      :()

Leave a Reply

