Hump Day Prayer for Our Character “Issues”

We entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character.

Humbly asked God to remove our shortcomings.

Steps 6 and 7 of AA

So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord! 

Romans 7:21-25 (NIV)

Good and Gracious God

We need for You to be Good and Gracious to us today.

We acknowledge that we have character “issues.”

We acknowledge that while we earnestly work at walking with You we are tripped up by desires and habits that drive us spiritually, mentally, and emotionally to the edge of sanity.

Impatience, rage, greed, fear, lust, self-pity, jealousy, pride, and more keep coming at us from all directions.

Father God

Help us to admit their existence while allowing Your grace to work in us freeing us, more and more, from their grip and our shame.

Help us to keep surrendering them so that we begin to live truly in the strength and power of Your Holy Spirit.

Father, do not let the Evil One keep shaming us and help us to stand, in and through Your Spirit, against his shaming and guilting ways so that we, like Paul can say, Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!

Amen.

Leave a Reply

