My Review of Helen Smith’s Men on Strike

I  finished this book today and so here is one last post before my June break! 15985426

I have been reading and hearing in the past several years about why men seem to be ‘dropping out’ of society. I too have wondered why and in this book Helen Smith, a psychologist offers several reasons why. Among them is a hostile legal environment regarding paternity issues and the sense of feeling second-class in today’s society resulting in an unwillingness to engage in marriage, community service, and life. Drawing upon stories from men she has worked with in her counseling practice and from their responses and comments on her blog, Smith writes a searing indictment of political correctness from what I believe to be a libertarian perspective.

Some readers of this book will perhaps find Smith harsh and even extreme in her views and recommendations. But I think that Smith’s book needs to be read in the context of other books on the subject because the increasingly noticed absence of men in society does have an impact on children, family life, and the quality of life in our society today.

I rate this book an ‘ok’ read.

Note: I reviewed a Net Galley copy of this book via the publisher in exchange for a review and was not required to write a positive review

Leave a Reply

