My One Word: Empower “Thinking About God”

“What comes into our minds when we think about God is the important thing about us.”

666758

I have begun my journey into some intentional re-reading of now eight (the original list was seven) books that I have found helpful to my faith development and relationship with God and I begin with a book whose first chapter begins with the above mentioned sentence – AW Tozer’s Knowledge of the Holy.

The reason for this reading project is two fold: 1. It is related to my One Word for this year – Empower. I believe that my focus for this year is to empower members of the congregation I serve, and others I meet along the way, to serve God in the ways He chooses in their daily lives. 2. For me to be empowered by the Holy Spirit, I came to the conclusion that I needed to re-read some books that God has used over the years to strengthen and empower me for my own life and journey. I have read some wonderful books in the past several years but I now need to take a short break from that kind of reading and focus on what I call “soul reading.”

My plan is to take my time and read these books and then write brief reflections on what I am reading as it relates to being empowered.

What do you think about God?

A good question. I know that some people think very little about God. Others think a great deal about God.

But, is what we think about God the right things about Him?

To be honest, there are periods when I am not thinking about God but about how I can do this or change that or what plans I need to make in regards to such and so. God? Well He is around here somewhere.

But Tozer reminds us:

“… man’s spiritual history will positively demonstrate that no religion has ever been greater than its idea of God.”

And he concludes his first chapter with this statement that speaks directly to the issue of empowerment on a very, very key point:

“The heaviest obligation lying upon the Christian Church today is to purify and elevate her concept of God until it is once more worthy of Him-and of her. In all her prayers and labor this should have first place. We do the greatest service to the next generation of Christians by passing on to them undimmed and undiminished that noble concept of God which we received from our Hebrew and Christian fathers of generations past.”

So I am reminded as I start this re-reading project (dare I call it a retreat?)  by what some called a “prophetic voice” who is still read today that one of the most empowering things I can do for those inside and outside my congregation is to ask the question “What do you think about God?” and help them come to a truly Biblical answer because how  empowered will I, and others, truly be if our thinking and believing (theology ?) about God is flawed and inaccurate?

empower picture 1

Leave a Reply

