Lenten Hump Day Prayer: Psalm 130

From the depths of despair, O Lord,
I call for your help.
 Hear my cry, O Lord.
Pay attention to my prayer…

I am counting on the Lord;

Jerusalem
Jerusalem (Photo credit: Wisdom72)

yes, I am counting on him.
I have put my hope in his word.

Father God,

The inner journey I am on grows steep sometimes.

And my “legs” and “lungs” wear.out.

The climb burns within me

The goal of getting “there” seems absolutely impossible.

To climb over another mountainous character defect seems a virtual “no go.”

We are getting near to Jerusalem

it’s nearly Passover

we are again to remember that YOU were the one who delivered our spiritual forefathers from certain death.

We die a thousand deaths at times Lord

and we seem to have resurrected sins come and snare us as we walk

and make us want to give up on You and ourselves and faith.

Lord, You are our only hope

and so we keep hoping and trusting in You.

Help us get to Jerusalem.

Help us get home.

Amen.

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories UncategorizedTags , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

