Hump Day Prayer: Praying Matthew 7:13-14

“Don’t look for shortcuts to God. The market is flooded with surefire, easygoing formulas for a successful life that can be practiced in your spare time. Don’t fall for that stuff, even though crowds of people do. The way to life—to God!—is vigorous and requires total attention. Matthew 7:13-14 (MSG)

Father, I keep looking for the best way to follow You. I read a lot- the Bible, prayer books; I go to worship more than once a week. I think about You a lot – most of the time. I have learned a great deal from all these seminars and conferences I have attended and I have met friends that I can tweet, chat, facebook, and skype with every day. How great this is Lord to be learning all of this stuff and fellowshipping with all these wonderful people.

Yet I am still struggling to hear You and keep up with You. The words get in the way, the crowd drowns out… You and Your words to me.

Help me to find the rhythm I need in this season of life to follow You. Give me clarity to the practices of listening and understanding You and what You want me to do at this point in my life. Put me with people whom You think will complement me in my journey in this season.

You are larger than all the books written. Period.

Your desire is to gather us together in ways that Your mission, underscored by Your wonderful saving grace, is fulfilled.

So Father, through Your Holy Spirit, make plain to me my current place on the path alongside You and others so that I hear You clearly and give myself totally to You.

In Jesus’ Name

Amen

Leave a Reply

