My “One Word” of Thursday Thoughts: “Following” Jesus

A reminder, as I begin this morning, that I am dedicating my Thursday Thoughts this year to the one word I have chosen for 2012 to focus on as part of

Chi Rho U+2627
Image via Wikipedia

the One Word Campaign. And my one word this year is ‘follow.’ (It is listed in the side bar of this blog. Thank you Melanie Moore of http://www.onlyabreath.com/ for designing the buttons for this year’s campaign!)

This week I have been reminded of the cost of following as I have been writing my sermon, based on Mark 8:31-38 which includes these words “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. (verse 34)

The fresh impact of those words reminded me all over again just how intentional and hard it is to follow Christ. For to follow Christ is to surrender my agenda and accept Christ’s agenda. That is hard to do because of 1.  the inner battle which Paul painfully and eloquently writes of in Romans 7 “So the trouble is not with the law, for it is spiritual and good. The trouble is with me, for I am all too human, a slave to sin…” (verse 14) and 2. the cultural pull to find your path and do your thing.

As I contemplate this journey I am being reminded of the holistic nature of following Christ and have composed a prayer to give me a daily starting place to follow the Lord. This helps me with the intentional aspect of following:

Father, I give you my lips, help me speak well today. Father, I give you my feet, help me walk well today.
Father, I give you my lips, help me speak well today. Father, I give you my feet, help me walk well today.
Father, I give you my mind, help me think well today. Father, I give you my heart, help me love well today.
Father, I give you my will. Help me today to use all these others things today in accordance with Your will. Amen
 

These are my Thursday Thoughts

Leave a Reply

