Thursday Thoughts: My “One Word” for 2012

My mom always told me that I took the long way from point A to point B.

My wife continuously asserts that I am “time-challenged.”

I did, and still do, take long ways from time to time.

I am time challenged (I should be home for dinner right.now!)

And I need to be more sensitive to the time issue.

But I am also wired differently.

Every time I have taken the Myers-Briggs personality test I have had an N for ‘intuitive.’

What does this mean? It means that I don’t do well with details or math or something precise.

I am a global person that thinks in many different directions.

This has held true for my faith journey.

I came to faith in Christ at age 8. It was Sunday and I had a deeply spiritual experience where I knew that I needed God in my life.

That took place nearly 46 years ago now.

But my journey of faith has meandered to and fro, and away from God at one point, over the years.

It was not a goal setting, get there at all costs journey.

It was a measured, and at times, deeply intense and introspective journey.

That is why my one word for 2012 is ‘follow.’ Just look over to the right hand side of the page and you will see a button with it.

I have joined the One Word campaign for 2012 and look forward to seeing what God has in store.

See more at www.oneword.org

I am seeking to follow Jesus much more intentionally this year.

What does that look like?

Well, I think that the Fruit of the Spirit is a great checklist but other than that…

I have no idea…

When Jesus called me to follow him, I took it as a journey to somewhere and not a performance check list.

Well, by the time you read this, I will have eaten dinner late (it’s 5:07 PM on Monday) and probably will

be hustled out the door to whatever is on the schedule for tonight.

But I am following Jesus this year…

and I will dedicate this blog column to sharing my journey.

Leave a Reply

