2012: My Contrarian View

Right up front let me say that ‘life’ and ‘balance’ are two things which in my thinking are like oil and water. They don’t mix and they never will. 

Rhythm, a sequence in time repeated, featured ...
Image via Wikipedia

Now, having said that, here is my resolution for 2012:

I will, with the help of the Holy Spirit, follow Jesus no matter what ‘season’ of life I encounter this year.

As I rack my 54 year old brain, I cannot recall anything in scripture that speaks of balance. I recall passages referring to seasons and timesbut not balance.
And it seems to me that Jesus’ call to ‘follow me’ is a call to learning about a rhythm and a season but not balance. For to me the life of a disciple is always out of balance but always in rhythm – God’s rhythm and season.

So I resolve to follow God this year whether it is quiet or loud or calm or turbulent.

Have a blessed and rhythmic 2012!

Leave a Reply

