Thursday Thoughts: A God in the Midst of…

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...
Image via Wikipedia

This morning I am aware of my own humanity in the midst of the physical and emotional discomfort I am experiencing today and in the words of those in my various social media streams.

Quite frankly I often sense this more than I want to admit and often have gotten a sense of  “it is going to be one of those days on “fill-in-the-name-of-your-favorite-social-media-site here”

It is also in the anxiety, fear, frustration, and anger of the voices of those who speak through the phone lines and cellular networks or across my desk.

But I hang on to one thing

It is the belief in a God who is with us in the midst of and in spite of all the sludge of brokenness, pain, alienation, and despair and who seeks to love us and care for us as we walk through the daily life here on earth.

I believe that the Christian God is a God of hope and life now and in the life that is to come.

This God and my belief in this God, though at times strained and thin and wavering, has kept me going when.nothing.else.has.

So today I simply say I believe and follow

 God the Father, Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth: And in Jesus Christ, his only begotten Son, our Lord: Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the Virgin Mary: Suffered under Pontius Pilate; was crucified, dead and buried: He descended into hell: The third day he rose again from the dead: He ascended into heaven, and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty: From thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead: I believe in the Holy Ghost: I believe in the holy catholic church: the communion of saints:  The forgiveness of sins:  The resurrection of the body: And the life everlasting. Amen.

These are my Thursday Thoughts…

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories UncategorizedTags , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

