Thursday Thoughts: Listening, Letting Go, and Lent

Lent
Image by jezobeljones via Flickr

This Lenten season has been one of the most intense periods of spiritual, mental, emotional, and relational growth for me than I have experienced in quite some time.

But it has not been easy…

It has required listening to God and paying attention to Him as I pray and mediate and reflectively read.

The words simplify, simplicity, and let go are words that I have frequently heard as I have prayed, meditated, and read.

I have  let go of my Facebook account. Not an easy thing to do. But the right thing to do. I was on briefly this week after a 30 day break

and I was ready to get off. I felt my soul tighten and I knew that I needed to get off and I did so. Too many words, too much emotion, too much time

has been used there.  It was time to simplify.

I hit, if you will, the reset button on my Twitter usage by deleting my first account and creating a new one. Not sure who were real people after awhile and who were ‘bots.’ Like Facebook, too many words, too much emotion, too much “noise.” I have capped my following at 125 persons/groups.

Hard to do but necessary because I need to hear God, and my family, better these days.

It has been worth it. Peace and clarity have started coming back to me. I am grateful.

These are my Thursday thoughts

One thought on “Thursday Thoughts: Listening, Letting Go, and Lent

Leave a Reply

