Second Hump Day Advent Prayer

In the Bleak Midwinter
Image by g.bremer via Flickr

I am indebted to fellow blogger, Julia Rocchi who blogs over at http://www.juliarocchi.com/ for allowing me to use her wonderful prayer, she titled Prayer #143, in today’s Hump Day prayer. Thanks Julia!

Prayer #143: Into The Wind

In wan light of creeping day
I shield my eyes to look away
While all around the winter wind
Hums its tune of lonely sin.

It buffets me up on that hill
With what I’ve done, did not, and will —
I brace myself, defenses thin,
With no escape from winter wind.

Then in fading sun I see
The shadows of a copse of trees.
I rush beside them, crouch within,
To hide my face from winter wind.

Ah, but ‘hide’ is not a choice,
For soon I hear Your gentle voice:
“Why keep your heart from winter wind
When it could be where love begins?”

No sooner did You speak these words
My sins took wing as little birds
Out toward the horizon dim,
Carried by the winter wind.

The tumult faded. I stood still
And gazed around that quiet hill,
Thus marking how and what I’d been
When I learned You were winter wind.

Amen.

Our God, Heaven cannot hold Him
Nor earth sustain;
Heaven and earth shall flee away
When He comes to reign:
In the bleak mid-winter
A stable-place sufficed
The Lord God Almighty,
Jesus Christ.

Christian Rossetti

Father, in the midst of this cold humpday, I ask that You warm our hearts by Your Holy Spirit as we confess to you the sin in our thoughts, our actions, our attitudes, and our feelings so that we in turn can be heart warmers to others.

Through Christ our Lord

Amen

Leave a Reply

