My Three Prayers Meme

Over at The Virtual Abbey (http://thevirtualabbey.blogspot.com) we have been challenged by their blogger, Meredith Gould, to participate in a three prayer meme. If you want to know all the details which I am not willing to spell out here…

go here—–> http://thevirtualabbey.blogspot.com/2010/07/come-let-us-pray-three-prayers-meme.html

Here are the three prayers that I have found valuable to my spiritual growth in recent times:

O Holy Spirit of God, visit now this soul of mine, and tarry within it until eventide. Inspire all my thoughts. Pervade all my imaginations. Suggest all my decisions. Lodge in my will’s inward citadel and order all my doings. Be with me in my silence and in my speech, in my haste and in my leisure, in company and in solitude, in the freshness of the morning and in the weariness of the evening; and give me grace at all times humbly to rejoice in Thy mysterious companionships. Amen. (John Baillie)

I love this prayer because it is a prayer that has helped me focus on allow God to dwell within me during the day. Baillie was a Church of Scotland pastor.

Here is the second one:

You are holy, Lord, the Only God.

And your deeds are wonderful.

You are strong.

You are great.

You are the Most High,

You are almighty.

You, holy Father, are

King of heaven and earth.

You are Three in One,

Lord God, all good.

You are Good, all Good, supreme Good,

Lord God, living and true.

You are love,

You are wisdom.

You are humility,

You are endurance.

You are rest,

You are peace.

You are joy and gladness.

You are justice and moderation.

You are all our riches,

And you suffice for us.

You are beauty.

You are gentleness.

You are our protector,

You are our guardian and defender.

You are our courage.

You are our haven and hope.

You are our faith,

Our great consolation.

You are our eternal life,

Great and wonderful Lord,

God almighty,

Merciful savior.                  (St Francis of Assisi)

This is a prayer of worship and adoration which I think we often leave out in praying because we are more focused on asking God for something than praising Him for who He is.

My final prayer is a familiar one with an addition that I was given two years ago and found to be very helpful.

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things that I cannot change, the courage to change the things that I can and the wisdom to know the difference. Grant me hope and patience with the things that take time, grace and mercy toward the struggles of others that may be different from my own, appreciation for all I have and the willingness to get up and try again, one day at a time. Your will, not my will, be done. Amen. (based on Reinhold Niebuhr)

In addition to the tremendous truth of the first part, the second part is prayer to be more compassionate and focused on listening to others and the value of gratitude.


3 thoughts on “My Three Prayers Meme”

  1. Thanks so much for participating! I’m hoping others will follow your example because, God knows, we all need more prayers and it’s great to know which ones inspire one another.

    Relative to the serenity prayer by Reinhold Neibuhr: last year I posted the long form of that prayer on my personal blog and was quite blown away by the comments. Apparently, the rest of the prayer came as news to lots of folks!

    May God continue to bless you and your ministry. Grateful to call you friend and a partner in prayer.

  2. This looks like a great site; thanks for the link! We’ve been celebrating mass at the Abbey here, which is Benedictine, as our son (Nick, age 16) was asked to sing this summer as part of the “Schola” which sings during the mass. The school he attends is also Benedictine in tradition (Benet Academy).

Leave a Reply

