Review of Pete Wilson’s Plan B

“Do you remember the day you discovered your life wasn’t going to turn out quite the way you thought?”

I certainly do… several times in my late 20’s.

And so has Pete Wilson.

His book Plan B: What do you do when God doesn’t show up the way you thought he would? Is an honest, yet hopeful, book about God’s grace and mercy when Plan A fails and Plan B is created.

He concludes the book on an honest note using the analogy of a bow, like you put on a wrapped present, and that because of sin, and the life we live because of sin, there is only the cross and grace and mercy from God through Christ that is for sure when even we seem to encounter a series of Plan B’s throughout our lives not a neat and happy ending.

Wilson starts off with the sharing of several personal stories about his own encounters of Plan B as well as those with whom he has walked as a pastor. But I think that the strength of the book comes at the beginning in chapter 9 entitled “Me Too” and continues through the end of the book.

Using the Biblical stories of Ruth, the John 11 account of Mary, Martha, and Lazarus, as well as the stories of friends who have had to go to Plan B, Wilson reminds us that “[w]e must be willing, if necessary, to abandon the life we’ve planned and dreamed of in order to receive the life that our God has authored for us.”

Pete’s exposition of John 16:33, “Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” (NLT) is a central part of the latter half of the book. But addressing both the reality of trials and the truth of Christ’s overcoming, we are led to understand that it is in and through circumstances that God’s peace and purpose is found.

Chapter 12, “Waiting on God” is a powerful chapter on the linkage between learning to trust God and learning to trust God’s timing. Wilson’s insights helped me begin to examine my own lack of trust in God’s timing and that I need work here.

Published by Thomas Nelson, Plan B contains a discussion guide that while I did not closely review, is a plus in a book for both personal as well as group study. I found Plan B an honest assessment of God’s grace and desires for us even if our own Plan B is due to our own disobedience choices.

(Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program called Book Sneeze (www.booksneeze.com)  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”)

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories Book ReviewsTags , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Review of Pete Wilson’s Plan B”

Leave a Reply

