Review of “What’s In the Bible?”

The creator of “Veggie Tales,” Phil Vischer, is back with a new animated series on DVD called “What’s In the Bible?” that is produced by Tyndale Publishers.

In an opening segment that quite frankly moved me to tears, Vischer, in a tactful and honest way spoke of the rise and fall of the “Veggie Tales” franchise and the lessons he learned from it, primarily how his original vision of helping children learn the Bible: who wrote it, how it came to be, and what it means for us today, was clouded by all the demands of the fast rising “Veggie Tales” that ultimately ended up in bankruptcy.

Now, through that crucible, Vischer is back with a new series that is an expression of his original vision and passion, “What’s In the Bible?”

When I received my preview copy, it said episodes one and two on the cover. However, when I started the DVD, I found it confusing and thought that there should have been section titles that most movie DVD’s have so that I could have a clearer picture of what constituted the episodes. As a result it took me about one hour to finally get to the two episodes and understand the flow of the program.

But that aside, I was very impressed with what I saw: Fast paced and lively, “What’s In the Bible?” introduces a new line of characters that are intergenerational and gives honor, in my opinion, to those persons, lay and clergy, who have made the teaching of scripture a touchstone of their ministry.

With a blend of sometimes humorous references to modern technology and a nod to that of the past (the flannel graph), “What’s In the Bible?” takes the viewer on multi-media kaleidoscope of music, humor, interviews, and sketches such as the “Pirate Phil’s Church History lesson.” It also dealt with the serious stories such as Abraham and Isaac in an honest and clear way.

As both parent and pastor, I decided to have my family watch it with me. My 12 year old at first had trouble tuning in to the “plot line” if you will, and felt it more suitable for 1st through 3rd graders. However, by the time the full episodes were showing, he grew to enjoy it though some of the humor was above his current level of understanding. My 14 year old was immediately drawn into and sat through the second half of the DVD. He, too, found the humor attractive. (As a result my wife said, “It is suitable for 1st through 3rd graders and middle school students!)

I believe that this series will not only help children, but also teens and adults, to get the big picture of the Bible. My wife is already thinking of showing it to her adult Sunday School class and I am planning to use with it my mid-week adult Bible Study!

If you would like to see a preview of “What’s In the Bible?” then click on this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-Mnq_sqMus and watch it!

Please also visit these sites as well to learn more about this new series:

www.whatsinthebible.com and www.tyndale.com

Finally, if you would like to win one of two copies of this DVD series, be one of the first two persons to respond to this post with a comment and include your e-mail address so that I can communicate with you directly and send you a certificate for a free “What’s In the Bible?” DVD from Tyndale House!

I believe that “What’s In the Bible?” is a needed addition to the Christian education of all ages and I thank God, Phil Vischer, and Tyndale House for making it happen!

(Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishing as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”)

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories Book ReviewsTags 6 Comments

6 thoughts on “Review of “What’s In the Bible?””

  1. Jim,

    Thanks for your review! Just to clarify, the actual DVDs do have a menu that separates the episodes. It just wasn’t like that on the advance viewer copies (plus there are actually 2 “episodes” on each DVD).

    Blessings and congrats to your winners!
    Christy

  2. I’d love to win a dvd.

    I’m glad to see Phil putting his God given talent to good use after Veggie Tales. I’ve always appreciated Veggie Tales’ emphasis on God’s Word. Without that, we don’t have much to go on.

  3. Jim: I’ll take one of the free DVDs. It sounds like an interesting series.

    Back when I was working in Chicagoland I did a phone interview with Mike Nawrocki – just before the Jonah movie came out. At the time, I think the boys thought interviewing Larry the Cucumber was the pinnacle of my journalism career.

Leave a Reply

