Review of Avery T Willis, Jr and Matt Willis’ Learning To Soar: How to Grow Through Transitions and Trials

One of my favorite Bible verses is Isaiah 40:31 and I have watched several shows about eagles, but not until I read Avery and Matt Willis’ book, Learning to Soar: How to Grow Through Transitions and Trials, did I fully begin to understand the story behind the verse. In an intergenerational and inspirational way, the Willis’ (a grandfather and grandson team) tells us how God wants us to ‘soar’ to the kind of life He wants us to have.

Learning to Soar, is a book about intentional commitment to God and His purpose and mission here on earth. It is not a book about shortcuts as they note in the last chapter. Rather it is about a sustained commitment to let God lead us to greater spiritual maturity.

I found Learning to Soar to be inspirational and helpful through a combination of story and exposition of the eagle’s life. This book is not a theoretical book but a practical book about intentionally choosing to get out of the nest (and the image of the adult eagle ‘stirring the nest’ to provoke the eaglet to eventually leave the nest has stuck with me) and soar as God intended.

Published by:

Jim Kane

I am a hubby to my wife of over 30 years, dad to two university students, caregiver to his mom, a minister, cat dad to Hanna who we adopted from our local animal shelter, a life-long aviation fan, and a reader and blogger. I began this blog in 2008 and post my book reviews, messages to my congregation, prayers, and other things as well. Thank you for stopping by!

Categories Book ReviewsTags , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

